Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,428 个评分
225 条评论

课程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

热门审阅

SL

Jun 02, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

筛选依据:

201 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 225 个评论(共 225 个)

创建者 Méliani

May 02, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

创建者 Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

创建者 Andrew A

Mar 13, 2020

Good backgrounder, but should have incorporated Tableau a bit more.

创建者 Laurent B

Feb 20, 2020

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.

创建者 Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

创建者 Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

创建者 Radosław K

Jan 30, 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

创建者 Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

创建者 Nino M

Jun 30, 2019

More practice would be helpful

创建者 LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

very subjective section.

创建者 Ted L

Jun 12, 2020

I enjoyed visualization until I took this course. This is the worst Coursera course I have taken so far. Though course contents were good, the course was super disorganized. Tableau version used in videos was from several years ago, so it can be confusing if you try to follow along with current version. Many reading materials mentioned in video could not be found in Resources area, but showed up in quizzes; same goes for other sample data (such as Anscombe Quartet data). Week 3 video referred to Cholera map presented in a prior week, but that material was not presented in week 1 or 2. Quiz answers referred to wrong modules to review. Finally, steps for Tableau Desktop installation provided in the course no longer works (and took a lot of googling to find the right method). Overall, the bad product experience took so much away from the course materials, I would not recommend this course.

创建者 Kelly D

Sep 29, 2017

I was initially disappointed by the focus on design principles with a limited emphasis on implementing these principles in Tableau. However, I realized that the structure of this course and its focus on Gestalt Principles and leveraging pre-attentive attributes were valuable. The problem was that each weekly module concludes with a quiz, but there's only one peer graded assignment for the whole class. That assignment includes instructions like "use one of the 9 design principles in a visualization that…". If the course was restructured so that there were a peer graded assignment to build a tableau visualization at the end of each weekly module it would have been much better.

创建者 David S

Jan 07, 2017

No Feedback from quizes, it doesn't even show you what you have answered, makes it very tedious to study the material. I like the questions during the video, that is an addition that ought to be used more often, because it forces you to remember and learn faster.

创建者 Thomas L

Aug 29, 2019

Some concepts were explained poorly (e.g. Gestalt principles, pre-attentive attributes). Peer review was frustrating - easy to fail the week 4 assignment due to the 5-point rating scale for some parts, which invites reviewers to deduct points arbitrarily.

创建者 Jennifer C

Feb 16, 2018

A lot of the material covered in this session was common sense. I also didn't learn any valuable skills that will help me design Tableau dashboards

创建者 Mike M

Aug 02, 2017

The peer graded assignment is far to volatile in this context. It should either be graded binary (done / not done) or done by staff....

创建者 Bryant R

Nov 02, 2017

It feels like the video tutorials were rushed and hard to follow this time.

创建者 Luis M M J

Jan 26, 2017

All it's about visual design. I was expecting more deep on tableau usage.

创建者 Pritish M

May 06, 2020

Week 4 was too theoretical and boring

创建者 yaoyaoholiday

May 04, 2019

Too much psychology theory part. I want to learn Tableau rather than how System I or System II works in my brain. I read Kahneman's book when I have leisure time, but I don't want to do such multiple choice problems in a computer class.

创建者 Muhammad S

Sep 19, 2019

This is completely theoretical. It would be better to include some practical work at the end of every week. It's completely boring. Try to include practical contents.

创建者 Florian B

Jun 14, 2020

I came here to learn how to use Tableau. This course didn't teach me much in Tableau - instead, it was packed with design theory that isn't very useful in practice.

创建者 Jacob G

Jun 26, 2019

Quiz references readings that are not listed anywhere in the module. Content of videos is helpful but the arrangement of this course is poor

创建者 Zhang M

Dec 31, 2018

The over-emphasization of theory and lack of application in this module made me feel sick.

创建者 khaled P

Sep 12, 2019

It is more about THeory and they did not explain Tableau