Chevron Left
返回到 Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

学生对 多伦多大学 提供的 Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 的评价和反馈

4.7
282 个评分
111 条评论

课程概述

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

热门审阅

SK

May 16, 2020

Dr.Steve has this casual way of approach that makes us very comfortable. Its like we have known him before.This course is too good. Why is this course not given a certificate upgrade option?

AG

May 26, 2020

The Course is timely and useful. Lessons are direct, understandable and relevant.\n\nHowever, i have already completed the course since yesterday but the status remains “in progress”

筛选依据:

1 - Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 的 25 个评论(共 116 个)

创建者 Jasmine F

Apr 22, 2020

Using many of the strategies to help navigate my family and myself through this weird difficult time. Successfully by using meditation and structured days.

创建者 Abdelhakim B

Apr 14, 2020

Thank you very much for this well prepared course. You have equipped me with strong mental tools to deal with difficult times when they arise.

创建者 Honey M J

May 10, 2020

Great course. This course enabled me to intensively understand psychological effects concerning COVID -19. It helped me to enhance my professional understanding

创建者 Viju C

Apr 29, 2020

exceptional. Timely action for a real problem by Prof Joordens.

Thank you for this great course.

waitng for the depression course he mentioned

创建者 Jean A L

Mar 30, 2020

I very much enjoyed the organic aspect of the content as well as the delivery method and moderator. Bravo!

创建者 Peter P

May 06, 2020

Great learning and skills developed during these challenging times.

创建者 Duke A O

Apr 03, 2020

I found this course to be very helpful. Bravo! Prof....

创建者 Jesus L

Apr 17, 2020

Thanks a lot for the knowledge about mental health and the tools to help us go through these times of physical distancing. I really enjoyed it.

创建者 ROMA P

Apr 24, 2020

Simple, easy to understand and offered effective strategies for those having mild anxiety.

Thank you and hope to see you again !!

创建者 CRISTINA D

Apr 08, 2020

This course is a great way to learn about how our minds work during this pandemics. The thing I liked the most is the style of the professor - he is so genuine, straightforward, funny sometimes and it's just pleasant to listen to him. It's making you feel like you're listening to a friend who is not only providing you with information, but is showing empathy and kindness which reaches you as an individual and not just a member of the audience. The content offers a realistic perspective of what is going out in our minds in this period, being in physical isolation, so I strongly recommend it. It's not very often to reach such a good content these days, making an overview of what is happening and how we could cope with it. Thanks to the professor for being available to put this material together! I recommended it to family, friends, the people at work (I'm doing remote work during this period). It took me less than 4h to complete and it was clearly time well spent.

创建者 Samantha

Mar 28, 2020

I have only finished Week 1, but I feel comfortable rating this course 5-stars! Prof. Joordens presents this information in a calm, digestible, engaging manner. I would argue this isn't merely a course for COVID-19, but one that develops lifelong skills (as Prof. Joordens mentions in his overview). As someone who struggles with anxiety, the way Prof. Joordens has explained why anxiety happens, how to mitigate it, and how to train my mind to relaxation is invaluable. Thank you for creating this course! Looking forward to Week 2!

创建者 Abhilash R

Apr 19, 2020

Loved it! Some worthy lessons for even the post-Covid world. Thank you, Steve, for a fantastic set of videos!

创建者 Henrik P

Apr 11, 2020

Again, I enjoyed the Professors calm way of passing on important knowledge from his vast catalog of knowledge to the ordinary student, without it becoming high-browed or too low-key. It was again in a quiet and calm dialogue-like manner, that one video took the next and wupti so that the samples could be crossed without any problems - and the content was fine tuned. I would have liked to pay for the course and get a little proof, but it's probably just me :-)

Thanks again.

Henrik

创建者 Jhonatan L d L

Apr 13, 2020

Steve, you are very smart, kind sounding and on point. For such a last minute course, your content has zero bla bla; everything, whether relevant to me or not, was excellently spoken and it did cover possibily most people's needs.

Thank you for sharing freely your excellent teaching skills and knowledge!

Best,

Jhonatan

创建者 Lindi B

Apr 28, 2020

Lovely course that gives you insight into how anxiety, fear and depression relates to one another. Great guidelines on how to effectively manage metal health during this time as well as other stressful situations.

创建者 SUJA M K

May 16, 2020

Dr.Steve has this casual way of approach that makes us very comfortable. Its like we have known him before.This course is too good. Why is this course not given a certificate upgrade option?

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 20, 2020

Great help for everyone. Physical distancing are very important and we must strengthen our social connection.

创建者 Beatriz A S M

Apr 29, 2020

A good course to take for tips in keeping ourselves calm and preoccupied during these trying times

创建者 ABIR G

Apr 08, 2020

It is an wonderful initiative by the Professsor.

创建者 Douglas B

Apr 22, 2020

Professor Steve Joordens of the University of Toronto and his online course Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 delivered by Coursera are excellent and outstanding. He taught us learners to control our anxiety, to manage our environment and avoid isolation, and to craft each of our days so that we have productive times and relaxation times. I downloaded the Guided Relaxation Audio by Professor Steve Joordens, and this is something that will be useful to me daily. I took Professor Steve Joordens' online Introduction to Psychology course delivered by Coursera in the year 2015, which I thought was excellent and outstanding as well, and in this year 2020 course he went beyond the material from the year 2015 and gave excellent new insights. I give Professor Steve Joordens and his Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 online course my very highest recommendation!!

创建者 Joanne R

May 16, 2020

Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19, was an absolutely fantastic course. Wow! I did the entire course in the 3 hour duration as I was eager to learn all at once. Professor, Steve Joordens was wonderful and made the course such an enjoyable one. Thank you, Professor. The course was evenly paced and easy to understand. I loved the guided relaxation and have been practicing it several times a day and seeing immediate benefits. This was my very first course by Course Era and I am inspired to take more courses and especially ones taught by this Professor. Thank you so much!

创建者 Manuela S M

Apr 22, 2020

Me parece muy importante y útil todo el curso. Sobre los diferentes recurso, como es la interacción social, las redes de apoyo, las actividades recreativas, pero también la estructura en dichas actividades, conservar la salud, alimentación sana, dormir adecuadamente, utilizar redes, tener control interno, ayudar al prójimo, incluir a la familia, aprenderse a relajar, etc. muy interesante. GRACIAS

创建者 Cecilia P

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course. Very useful for these times of confinement. Makes you feel less alone and gives you the tools necessary to deal with anxiety. Professor Steve Joordens has managed to summarize in this short course just everything you need to better manage all the sensations and confusion we are all sharing right now. Very generous and emphatic on his part to have shared all this knowledge with us.

创建者 Robert M

Apr 28, 2020

Nicely done with a lot of great information put in relatively easy-to-understand terms. It is very well laid out. I would imagine this could help a lot of people as they struggle with the current situation. I also hope that it facilitates the idea that we are in this together and that focusing on each other a little more will get us through this.

Thanks for this.

创建者 SHWETA B

May 04, 2020

I loved every bit of it! Understanding what is going on with my mind and body really puts me in a better place. Working on listening to the Anxiety Relaxation Audio every day and it works; makes me energetic when I am low, to get up and get my shit done. Thank you so much for the course, it's much required during this time.

I hope everyone is doing okay!