Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
stars
2,897 个评分
561 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to Typography 的 200 个评论(共 534 个)

创建者 Mingtao W

May 16, 2019

Very good intro class. Learned a lot of practical skills when applying typography to design.

创建者 Julie L

Aug 05, 2016

Very interesting, you have to always push your limit and experiment to benefit this course!

创建者 Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

创建者 Nicholas S H

May 02, 2019

So far, the most helpful course out of this specialization. Taking the last course soon.

创建者 Lorenzo F

Jul 05, 2017

Amazing course! I love typography and these lectures were very well done and insightful.

创建者 Eugenia S

Aug 08, 2016

I like this course! It realy helps me to understand typography and its usage. Thank you!

创建者 Jaspal S R

Aug 07, 2016

Great, how they started the course and finished it, got all the info i was looking for!

创建者 Leon B

Mar 12, 2019

Basic information, but gave me great insight into how typography is created and works.

创建者 F A

Aug 07, 2018

Very well structured and easy to follow classes.

All Designers should learn this bases.

创建者 Денис

Mar 31, 2017

Great course! Thank you for wide and deep introduction in the world of typograph.

.

创建者 Dana L

Sep 09, 2018

Very interesting and important course to those who wish to become a graphic designer

创建者 Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

创建者 Joe C

May 13, 2016

this was a quick but engaging introduction to typography and typographical concepts.

创建者 John M

Sep 13, 2019

Anther does a great job introducing and opening you up to the world of typography.

创建者 Jose A G R

Aug 17, 2019

Great course, easy to understand, a teacher with a lot of knoledge on the topic...

创建者 Ken M

Jul 09, 2017

Wonderfully informative intro to typography, its history and creative application.

创建者 Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

创建者 Magdalena S

Mar 03, 2017

You will never look at any text/page/book/poster the same way again. Great course!

创建者 Ashley K

Dec 16, 2016

I learned quite a bit for it just being introductory. Would definitely recommend.

创建者 Balaji A

Mar 19, 2018

Lots of interesting insights about the typo and the excerises we really engaging.

创建者 Francesca S

Jan 22, 2018

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics of typography. I truly enjoyed it!

创建者 Govindarajan S

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent coverage. The assignments are good and the quality of the video is gret

创建者 Valentina S

Aug 03, 2019

Great start in typography and very useful practical assignment. Highly recommend

创建者 Allison W

Jan 15, 2019

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. I wish there was another followup to it!

创建者 Marta D C A

Jan 18, 2018

beautifuly taught, perfect introduction and instruction. Do highly recommend it.