Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,008 个评分
592 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to Typography 的 200 个评论(共 565 个)

创建者 Dana R S

Oct 16, 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

创建者 Wei-Ru L

Sep 05, 2016

Detailed knowledges of typography. It's also very practical for applying to any kind of design job.

创建者 Aura M C

Apr 21, 2019

I absolutelly LOVED this course! I can't stop looking at letterforms after taking it. Gorgeous! :)

创建者 SOUQUET A

Mar 20, 2020

Clear, effective, interesting ! Everything of this course is good and well presented. Thank you !

创建者 Olli V

Jan 18, 2018

Very well-designed and constructed course. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the topic!

创建者 Sian-Louise N

Feb 26, 2019

this was extremely helpful. I had no idea how much I could learn from this course on Typography.

创建者 Angela O

Sep 25, 2018

I liked this course. Very straightforward and had useful assignments that built on each other.

创建者 Ramasundari B

Aug 08, 2016

Loved it. Great content. Userful assignments. Most importantly, kept it interesting. Thank you.

创建者 Assel N

Jul 12, 2016

This course is very informative and interesting! I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

创建者 Ahsan A

Oct 05, 2018

Perfectly Covered the content. I'll definitely enroll in another course by CALARTS. Loved it!

创建者 Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

创建者 Lynn K

Jan 25, 2017

This course is good to understand basic typography. Teacher had detail and good explanations.

创建者 Mingtao W

May 16, 2019

Very good intro class. Learned a lot of practical skills when applying typography to design.

创建者 Julie L

Aug 05, 2016

Very interesting, you have to always push your limit and experiment to benefit this course!

创建者 Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

创建者 Alice B

Mar 16, 2020

Extremely engaging, very informative, and creative assignments! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

创建者 Nicholas S H

May 02, 2019

So far, the most helpful course out of this specialization. Taking the last course soon.

创建者 Lorenzo F

Jul 05, 2017

Amazing course! I love typography and these lectures were very well done and insightful.

创建者 Eugenia S

Aug 08, 2016

I like this course! It realy helps me to understand typography and its usage. Thank you!

创建者 Jaspal S R

Aug 07, 2016

Great, how they started the course and finished it, got all the info i was looking for!

创建者 Leon B

Mar 12, 2019

Basic information, but gave me great insight into how typography is created and works.

创建者 F A

Aug 07, 2018

Very well structured and easy to follow classes.

All Designers should learn this bases.

创建者 Денис

Mar 31, 2017

Great course! Thank you for wide and deep introduction in the world of typograph.

.

创建者 Dana L

Sep 09, 2018

Very interesting and important course to those who wish to become a graphic designer

创建者 Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!