Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
stars
2,899 个评分
561 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

筛选依据:

201 - Introduction to Typography 的 225 个评论(共 534 个)

创建者 Muhammad A Y

Dec 27, 2017

i really thankful to coursera . and learn most important skill about typography.

创建者 Cristina L F

Dec 12, 2017

Easy way in understanding type and getting extra insights on typographic design.

创建者 Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

I work with type regularly for my job, and I still learned a lot in this course.

创建者 Daniel C

Apr 17, 2016

I learned a lot, despite my initial disinterest in this field of graphic design.

创建者 Samuele R

Aug 10, 2017

Very interesting course, I liked it so much and enjoyed making the assignments.

创建者 Ellis W

Feb 19, 2017

Very cool, simple course. I had no idea that fonts could be so interesting. :)

创建者 Manash G

Jan 04, 2017

I have learned a lot from the typography lessons, I recommend to all designers

创建者 Ekaterina I

Aug 15, 2018

Great course! Quite easy, but I've learnt a lot. Also it is very informative.

创建者 Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

loved this course and learning about typography. I would highly recommend it.

创建者 Salem F A

Dec 07, 2018

very very awesome course, you will learn a lot from the

instructor.good luck

创建者 Shilpa R

Oct 15, 2017

This is a amazing course for typography. Assignment consist of good pratice.

创建者 Kostas H

Mar 25, 2017

Just excellent. Very well organised, great narration, interesting homework.

创建者 Arnaud C

Dec 04, 2016

Very good to learn typo, i didn't imagine it was so interesting. Thank you!

创建者 Kira S

Jan 10, 2020

I really liked this short course, and it was very informative and helpful.

创建者 Felipe F A

Feb 11, 2019

If you like typography, take the course. If you dont, take the course! =)

创建者 Megan M S

Nov 15, 2016

Interesting to learn the history and rules of typography and very helpful.

创建者 Luke Q

Aug 25, 2016

Very conversational and informative. Glad to spend my time and money here.

创建者 Nakash

Jun 14, 2016

i learn many thing form Introduction to typography.its really good course

创建者 Claudio C G

Mar 02, 2019

I never thought this topic would trigger such passion in me. I loved it!

创建者 Dionysia A

Oct 03, 2018

Wonderful lesson. Really useful with interesting videos and assignments.

创建者 Chriz P P

Nov 13, 2017

The lesson gave the inspiration to create more designs using typography.

创建者 Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!

创建者 AMAN S

Aug 20, 2018

A must do course, if you want to get hands on experience in Typography.

创建者 Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

创建者 fernando V S

Apr 05, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!