Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,000 个评分
589 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

筛选依据:

201 - Introduction to Typography 的 225 个评论(共 564 个)

创建者 Sergio A G R

Mar 05, 2020

I think the whole course was very good in terms of content and general was amazing.

创建者 John M

Sep 13, 2019

Anther does a great job introducing and opening you up to the world of typography.

创建者 Jose A G R

Aug 17, 2019

Great course, easy to understand, a teacher with a lot of knoledge on the topic...

创建者 Ken M

Jul 09, 2017

Wonderfully informative intro to typography, its history and creative application.

创建者 Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

创建者 Magdalena S

Mar 03, 2017

You will never look at any text/page/book/poster the same way again. Great course!

创建者 Ashley K

Dec 16, 2016

I learned quite a bit for it just being introductory. Would definitely recommend.

创建者 SUVRA D

Feb 05, 2020

The course is really exciting and fun. I got to learn many new things. Thank you!

创建者 Balaji A

Mar 19, 2018

Lots of interesting insights about the typo and the excerises we really engaging.

创建者 Francesca S

Jan 22, 2018

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics of typography. I truly enjoyed it!

创建者 Govindarajan S

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent coverage. The assignments are good and the quality of the video is gret

创建者 Valentina S

Aug 03, 2019

Great start in typography and very useful practical assignment. Highly recommend

创建者 Allison W

Jan 15, 2019

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. I wish there was another followup to it!

创建者 Marta D C A

Jan 18, 2018

beautifuly taught, perfect introduction and instruction. Do highly recommend it.

创建者 Muhammad A Y

Dec 27, 2017

i really thankful to coursera . and learn most important skill about typography.

创建者 Cristina L F

Dec 12, 2017

Easy way in understanding type and getting extra insights on typographic design.

创建者 Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

I work with type regularly for my job, and I still learned a lot in this course.

创建者 Daniel C

Apr 17, 2016

I learned a lot, despite my initial disinterest in this field of graphic design.

创建者 Samuele R

Aug 10, 2017

Very interesting course, I liked it so much and enjoyed making the assignments.

创建者 Ellis W

Feb 19, 2017

Very cool, simple course. I had no idea that fonts could be so interesting. :)

创建者 Manash G

Jan 04, 2017

I have learned a lot from the typography lessons, I recommend to all designers

创建者 Urs-Jakob R

Mar 30, 2020

Short and to the point, including time-honored rules and not lacking context.

创建者 Ekaterina I

Aug 15, 2018

Great course! Quite easy, but I've learnt a lot. Also it is very informative.

创建者 Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

loved this course and learning about typography. I would highly recommend it.

创建者 Salem F A

Dec 07, 2018

very very awesome course, you will learn a lot from the

instructor.good luck