Chevron Left
返回到 DNA测序算法

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 DNA测序算法 的评价和反馈

4.8
403 个评分
91 个审阅

课程概述

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

热门审阅

VK

Aug 08, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

AZ

Mar 11, 2016

Awesome, you will learn a lot about how DNA assemblers work, but very challenging and time demand in, especially if your background is in life science and not computer science.

筛选依据:

1 - DNA测序算法 的 25 个评论(共 89 个)

创建者 Bingdi L

Jun 02, 2019

Great!!!

创建者 Tom

May 19, 2019

This was an outstanding class. Thank you very much.

创建者 Xiaoou D

May 07, 2019

Very clear presentation. Good analogies used to help with understanding abstract concepts. Both instructors are excellent teachers.

创建者 Carlos M

Mar 22, 2019

Great material, nicely presented.

创建者 Yafremau N

Jan 11, 2019

This is one of the best courses I've seen so far, that explains and showcases main principles, fundamentals of genomics, algorithms. Lectures are very informative and use metaphors for person to understand complex tasks in simple manner. I loved practicals as you could go along with the lecture in parallel, seeing how such algorithms were made and what steps to take while doing so. 5/5

创建者 Stephanie T E

Jan 06, 2019

This course was a really awesome course for anyone that has a light background in Python and wants to look more into bioinformatics. The instructors were very passionate and clear, and there was a good balance between learning about biology and the programming aspect. However, for somebody that only has the programming knowledge from Course 3 of the Genomic Data Science Specialization (Python for Genomic Data Science), that course, I believe, is too light for the new Python concepts taught in this course. I believe that before taking this course, you may need more background knowledge for Python. However, this is still a stellar course that I greatly enjoyed, with the homework and assignments being appropriately challenging.

创建者 Geoffrey K

Nov 17, 2018

I was completely new to Python when I started this course - and the good news is I learned enough to complete! (Yay!)

I suspect I'd have given the course 5 stars had I started with slightly more Python knowledge.

Still, the feeling of having got through is sweet all the same!!

创建者 Cheng J

Nov 12, 2018

The course is very helpful to me,especially the code that the professor assistants wrote in the class. There are some algorithms have mentioned and completed ,but I think if the class talked about the software like BWA, BFAST and other DNA sequence or De novo assembly software, it will be more perfect and helpful. Finally ,thank you for your work

创建者 Omar E

Oct 19, 2018

I loved this course a lot. It's well organized. The lectures are clear. And the practicals are highly useful. Also, the assignments are helpful.

创建者 Yueqi C

Sep 24, 2018

This is a super nice course.

创建者 Joanna W

Aug 31, 2018

This is an excellent course. Lectures are very well prepared, practicals provide step-by-step explanations of the scripts (which is especially useful for people with little coding experience) and homeworks are well thought through, so that they force students to use the knowledge gained in the module. Some of the homeworks are challenging, but all the information needed to do the exercises is provided in lectures and practicals. All the notebooks containing scripts are provided, which makes it easy to take notes and better understand the scripts by running some examples. The way the concepts are explained in the lectures (the computational problem is described in details and then the ways of dealing with it are carefully explained in order of increasing complexity) provides insight into not only how these algorithms work but also why (what is the purpose/cause/reason behind these solutions). I can imagine how much work and thought went into preparation of these lectures and I honestly admire the teachers for their efforts. Taking this course was a great experience: I learned a lot and enjoyed it a lot. A big thank you! Please, keep up the good work.

创建者 Mohamed E

Aug 24, 2018

this is just so good. i did take a lot of courses online and in my university on bioinformatics and this is the best course design i saw so far. i had to take pauses while watching the lectures to appreciate how much effort the creators of the course put to make it this connected and comprehensive. thank you!

创建者 David B

Aug 22, 2018

It is well explained. More space to programming practical exercise is suggested.Very intriguing Programming Homework! You have to apply all the python knowledge you have learned so far and also the one you have still to learn :)

创建者 Manuel C

Aug 13, 2018

This is more of my area... just starting the first videos and I'm already excited.

创建者 Sylvain

Jul 04, 2018

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

创建者 李仕廷

Jun 02, 2018

it's really a helpful course, and it would show you the basic algorithms of the software we are using today.

创建者 Ian P

May 28, 2018

Good course, well presented. There was some linking with the underlying biology though I would have liked more of this. Even though the course is essentially about generic string processing algorithms, it needs to be kept focused on the genomics - which mostly it was.

创建者 ELISA W

May 17, 2018

I am torn about this class. On one hand, there was some good information, and I definitely learned more throughout the course. On the other hand, as a biologist trying to learn programming, this course was insufficient. Very little of the programming code was explained (and considered obvious?). I spent a lot of time googling to understand the code so that I could not only learn but complete the assignments. There are some concepts (like the use of __init__) which I still do not understand. Also, the "hints" to accomplish the homework assignments were definitely not well explained. I only managed to increase the speed of my programs by going through the discussion forums for hours until I found something that helped.

Also, as a biologist, it is obvious that this course is not designed so that a computer programmer learns much about the biology. A simple (but necessary!!) change would be to refer to the left and right as 5' and 3'. Using biological terminology would have helped me understand what the lecturer was talking about.

Plainly, this is a course for a computer person to learn more code. It could be taught to do so much more!!

创建者 Oliver S

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed the introduction to some of the algorithms used in genomics... and hope to explore these further in my career.

创建者 Dan S

Mar 31, 2018

I loved this course. The material was really interesting and it was well taught. The assignments were excellent as well.

创建者 Valdir B J

Mar 17, 2018

Very good lectures. Some of the homework assignments were kind of hard though (and no help in the discussion forums).

创建者 Bill G

Mar 13, 2018

Helpful material for DNA Sequencing and number crunching.

Well taught, I suggest a background in Python to make things more enjoyable.

创建者 Raul A

Feb 13, 2018

Very good course I enjoyed it a lot. It has a very good layout at just the proper difficulty level for a course of this duration.

创建者 annet k

Feb 07, 2018

This is by far the hardest and most organized. My coding skills have improved greatly. The codes are explained very well. I definitely recommend it!

创建者 Callen H

Jan 13, 2018

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics algorithms