Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.5
328 个评分
104 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

筛选依据:

1 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 25 个评论(共 103 个)

创建者 Dr. B D

Oct 09, 2018

It's difficult to say what is exactly wrong with this course. I can say that I have a masters degree in nuclear astrophysics and a PhD in nuclear physics. Not to be unkind, but I absorbed very little new information from this course, and I know very little about particle physics. I think a major problem is the language barrier, even though the target audience is English-speaking, the accents were so thick and pronunciations so bad, that I had to turn on subtitles just to understand what was being said. This is especially true of the two female instructors. If there were ancillary materials, I somehow missed them, but the videos were less than adequate for passing the tests. I often resorted to trial and error to pass the individual tests. Thus, the course became more of a test for my test-taking strategies than mastering any new understanding of physics. Perhaps, it might not be popular with your target, but improvements might be made with at least some required reading and a few homework problems in each module. And for the love of God, if you're just going to read the transcripts on camera anyway, get some speakers who speak English better.

创建者 Carlos E L F

Feb 11, 2018

It was in general a very useful introduction to the basic notions of both theoretical and experimental Particle physics. While it is true one cannot contain all the concepts in just one course, it nevertheless helped me cover all the undergraduate aspects I lacked in my education about Particle Physics and a basis to focus on Quantum Field Theory and Theoretical Physics, while at the same time having important notions on experimental physics and Cosmology. However, I would rate that the course was a bit easier than expected, as the number of obligatory calculations was kept to a minimal. I think it would have been interesting to add some exercises that involved basic calculations in quantum field theory, such as cross sections or decay for a particular process (apart from those shown in the lectures).

创建者 Massimo M

Mar 10, 2018

Very good introduction to the subject. Some prerequisite are mandatory to full grasp all contents, anyway you can go through the course since graded quizzes are not so hard, in my opinion. Thanks to authors for sharing these materials on Coursera and to mentor that can clarify if you have any doubt.

Massimo

创建者 James W

Nov 25, 2018

Fantastic course for graduate students needing a refresher, or other folks with cursory knowledge of the topic already. Not a great course for someone's first introduction to the material.

创建者 Brice B

Jun 23, 2018

I previewed the course. This is one of the worst course I have watched on Coursera. You would expect people who teach physics to know that you cannot do it by showing slides after slides while reading through your notes at a very fast pace. Apparently, these people don't. In the introduction, they say: "It would also be good if you had basic notion on the restricted relativity and quantum mechanics. But in any case, it will give you a quick reminder of this notion and the specific vocabulary." Note first that this is incoherent: if one doesn't have the basic notions (I actually did) one needs more than a quick reminder (how could one be reminded of what one doesn't know, I wonder?) Second, what they give is a VERY quick reminder. Don't look for the videos on quantum mechanics and restricted relativity because there are none, we are here talking of a few slides rushed through... Appalling.

创建者 Jrisa S

Oct 22, 2017

I would prefer the videos to have more added value regarding the "teaching dimension" of the course, for example 1) the most important issues could be better explained and emphasized (as this is very well done in the section of the quizes), 2) the part of the slide that is being analysed at each moment should be somehow pointed at, 3) a few animations would be very helpful, 4) since every presentation consists only of reading the lecture slides, it would be better to select some people with a better english accent (no offence there), because it is very difficult to watch the video and read the subtitles trying to understand what is being said at the same time.

Apart from the above, this course is an extremely good effort to make a very useful, summarised and yet complete reading meterial about particle physics.

Thank you

创建者 tom w

Feb 08, 2019

This course is taught by experts in the field that are involved in exploring the frontiers of the particle physics world at the world's leading particle physics research center (CERN). The instructors provide excellent documentation throughout along with additional commentary, optional materials and some derivations. If you've been interested to know more about the particle physics world, the ideas and background on the search for the Higgs boson, along with discussions of dark matter and dark energy, you won't be disappointed. Quizzes are challenging and provide additional learning opportunities. If its been a while since you've had college physics, don't be discouraged, the option to retake tests and quizzes allow you to deepen your learning and improve your score. Many thanks to Martin, Mercedes and Anna for an excellent learning experience!

创建者 Paul V

Aug 31, 2018

Fast paced lecture.

创建者 Philip R

Sep 09, 2018

An interesting an engaging introduction to particle physics.

创建者 Daria U

Apr 27, 2018

Great course! Things definitely become clear while taking courses like that. Interesting and logically structured, includes both math aspects and laboratory experiments.

创建者 Mikhal L B

Mar 04, 2019

The concepts presented in this introductory course were a little beyond me at first, but after sometime I began to understand the concepts that governed how particles interact to create the universe we see today. I believe that I will need to keep studying these concepts to truly understand everything that has been discovered about particle physics, but I believe that this course has given me a good start in comprehending the basics of particle physics.

创建者 Lily S

Nov 17, 2018

easy to understand!!!! I'm in 8th grade and this course was fun and easy to follow. could explain the equations better though

创建者 Bill T

Sep 14, 2017

Very good overview. The equation require quite a bit more explanation and the tests really only test the concepts not the mathematics.

I recommend English subtitles for the optional lectures, which are in French.

创建者 Shiyuan W

Feb 28, 2019

A bit too quick and doesn't go into detail about all the concepts, but overall a fabulous course!

创建者 Freddy R L

Feb 07, 2019

A very informative and sometimes challenging course to introduce yourself to particle physics as well as some other exciting phenomena in the field of theoretical and experimal physics.

创建者 Simone C

Feb 25, 2018

I liked this course but from my point of view sometimes I found a bit tough to be confident with the concepts exposed just within the information given, those needs to be integrated by a quantity of notions from outside sources which makes the 8 weeks target not feasible. At the end of the course I have a lot of open questions about the arguments treated (which is, of course, not to be considered negative as this open questions are more deepen than what I had before) and I think to have a superficial understanding of the phenomena and concepts. Nevertheless the same title is "an Introduction" so that is the main aim of the course I think.

P.S. just for completeness of the review, I am an Electronic Engineer - master's degree

创建者 Solomon M

Jul 08, 2017

It was almost impossibke to understand the language of the teachers because of the strong accent.

创建者 Matthew O

Jun 25, 2019

This course is invaluable for any individual looking to advance their knowledge in particle and quantum physics. HOWEVER, the lecturers have thick accents and I found it nearly impossible to understand a lot of what they were saying. It is helpful to have the transcript, but it is frustrating to try and see their notes in the tiny screen on the side. And trying to go up and down on the screen to see the notes, and also understand what's being said, is obnoxious and frustrating.

Along with that, the audio for the intro/outro for the videos is DEAFENINGLY loud compared to the audio during the lectures. Be warned, if you're using headphones, you will lose a good chunk of your hearing.

It's also important to have a relatively solid understanding of physics and calculus before taking the course. I found some sections more difficult because I didn't understand those parts. A personal problem, for sure, but be warned if you have no understanding of the material prior to taking this course.

创建者 Tarit G

Aug 05, 2018

Very fast, hard to follow the course. English pronunciation is not good.

创建者 Kevin D N

Mar 10, 2019

I thank you, for helping me and teaching me to recognize, define, correctly, solve concepts such as dark energy, dark matter, understand the principle of the universe and matter, as well as identify the different fundamental parts of matter and the forces and interactions between them.

创建者 J N

Oct 12, 2018

Special thank you to Martin, Anna , Mercedes and the entire courserteam

创建者 Jose A V H

Oct 14, 2017

Practically everything I expected from an introductory course, plus more, I still have many papers mentioned in the modules to read, so I'll keep on going. It doesn't require advanced math skills, however, to fully understand some topics I recommend to have your calculus skills revisited if you're not in the field of theoretical/experimental physics.

创建者 Satish J

Jan 11, 2018

Coursera courses are a godsend for people like me who would like to satisfy their curiosity about the things around us.

创建者 李宁

Oct 22, 2017

这是一个非常好的课程,使我对于粒子物理有了更加深刻的认识,Thank you, greeting from China, I very want to visit CERN, but I do not have enough money and time, I can not reach but I wish,虽不能至,心向往之

创建者 ROHIT N

Apr 13, 2018

Best