Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.4
805 个评分
240 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

VL

Mar 26, 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH

Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

筛选依据:

151 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 175 个评论(共 240 个)

创建者 Cao S S

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent course!

创建者 Dr.S S

Jun 21, 2021

Excellent Course

创建者 Dr. S K J

May 11, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 hassan a

Dec 5, 2017

Very Good Course

创建者 Raphael G C

Jan 30, 2022

Awesome course!

创建者 Arko P S

Jun 28, 2020

Great Course

创建者 Ryan C

Oct 5, 2020

Amazing!!!

创建者 Manuel H R

Jul 29, 2020

Very good.

创建者 Hrishit M

Sep 23, 2021

Excellent

创建者 natchimuthu V

Sep 22, 2020

thank you

创建者 Sunday O C

Jul 5, 2020

Very Good

创建者 Soumil G S

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Vikram M

May 4, 2020

Thank You

创建者 SAHIL A M

Sep 24, 2021

Great

创建者 SaIkat D

Sep 24, 2021

Great

创建者 2K19/EP/103 V G

May 5, 2022

good

创建者 ROHIT N

Apr 13, 2018

Best

创建者 Tanmay G

Jun 28, 2020

nil

创建者 Dr. M A L G

Apr 25, 2022

-

创建者 Alicia m

May 9, 2022

This is the best coursera course I have taken. Unlike most of the science courses I have taken on coursera, this class moves beyond high school level content. It is still not at the level of the courses I took for my undergraduate physics degree - the homework and exams were difficult at university, while these questions are easily solved without much math. My main complaint about the course is the amount of handwritten equations - it is often hard to distinguish different characters in the handwriting. This was also a concern at university, but since these lectures are created for online learning, and not given in an actual classroom with a blackboard, it would be better to present typed equations.

创建者 Jean S

Mar 5, 2019

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

创建者 Lane W

Aug 25, 2020

NOT AND INTRODUCTION

I feel badly giving this course anything less than four stars because the instructors put a lot of time into making it and I am VERY thankful that they offered the course for free to the world. I think it is a very noble thing.

There was value in the course for me for the first 2 or 3 modules but after that I hardly learned anything except some conceptual points about the Higgs Boson and Dark Matter because it was WAY above an entry level course. To get the most of the course you'd probably need to have either been exposed to it before or have a degree in it.

I am very thankful that they put it together though.

创建者 Tyler C

Jul 18, 2017

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

创建者 Jana A

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting course, but not for beginners. The information provided in the videos presupposed some knowledge in this field, which I unfortunately did not have. To understand the topics, I had to look for other sources. I would also welcome a terminological glossary explaining frequently used terms. A big problem for me was the English pronunciation of one lecturer. Otherwise, I rate this course very well. A number of things that interested me were clarified and I think it could be a good basis for further study.

创建者 Samy S

Sep 17, 2017

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing