Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Probability and Data with R

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Introduction to Probability and Data with R 的评价和反馈

4.7
5,201 个评分

课程概述

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

热门审阅

AM

Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

AA

Feb 24, 2021

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

筛选依据:

76 - Introduction to Probability and Data with R 的 100 个评论(共 1,238 个)

创建者 HEMANT S G

Apr 6, 2018

This course is really helpful to have a better understanding of fundamentals of probability and data statistics. The course mainly focuses on basic concepts of probability and how to apply them. The assignment provided was very helpful and challenging. The peer graded project allows me to evaluate my fellow course mates which really boost my confidence as make me feel like an invigilator and provide the basis for my academic career.

创建者 Noah

Oct 1, 2017

This is a very good course to learn (or review) the foundations of statistics and how R can be a great companion tool to augment a solid understanding of the topic.

The instructor speaks clearly and at a fast enough pace that there is no time to pay attention to anything else. I appreciated the lectures, slides and there is a free PDF book which is also well written! I am looking forward to the other courses in this series!

创建者 Kimberly G

Sep 5, 2017

The course was really beneficial to someone with no R experience. Having taking statistics courses before I was mainly interested in the use of R for computational uses of statistics and analysis. The course provided those means and more. I'd recommend using RStudio on your own computer versus the Data Camp tutorials however as when it comes to the project at the end, you'll be extra comfortable with the use of RStudio.

创建者 Jeremy M

Sep 18, 2021

V​ery well-designed course with interesting topics. The supplementary reading proved essential for me. The recommended times are not very reliable. The only down side is the extent to which R is used (not enough in my opinion) and I did not feel well prepared for the final assignment but this may be due to the type of research questions I set myself. Overall, very interesting and I am glad to have done this course.

创建者 Bruno P

May 29, 2019

It's a great course for who want to learn applied statistics using R. The main topics are deeply explained. Exercises and other materials, like the OpenIntro book, are challenging. And final project gives you and idea of your new skills levels. The only attention point, for me, was the unbalance between the expected time to do the final project and the real demand. But it was a very, very rich experience for me.

创建者 Lawrence K

Jun 10, 2021

The course provides a solid introduction to probability and statistics and the instructor clearly explains all the topics. The quizzes and labs were very useful in reinforcing the concepts that were covered in the course. I was a little disappointed that R is used instead of Python but after using R Studio, which is a very nice tool, I can appreciate that R may make the course more accessible.

创建者 Haris N

Mar 26, 2021

Wonderful course. Provides direction but after that is pretty much self-driven with little spoon feeding, which is how courses should be. If you're looking to learn R this may not be the best place to start since this course doesn't talk much about base R and goes straight to tidyverse packages.

I think links to more mathematical proofs for some concepts would be useful for advanced learners.

创建者 Mabeesha P W

Jun 14, 2020

Everything is clear and well organized. But, the final assignment might be little bit difficult for a beginner. The estimated time for that is 2 hours but I think it would take more than 2 hours for a beginner (A day or a two). It would be great if there are more explanations and guidance for the last assignment. But, anyone would be able to complete if he/she has enough time to spare.

创建者 Sandra J G M

Jun 30, 2020

I really liked this course, it is very well organised and the explanations are good and sufficient. However, this is not a course for someone who haven't work with R before. You need to have at least some basics of R to complete the labs and the final assignment. It was not easy to complete the final assignment but absolutely worth the effort. I learned a lot during this course.

创建者 José A R N

Oct 22, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Statistics in DataScience and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

创建者 Karen J

Aug 22, 2017

I've taken several introductory statistics courses and this one is by far the best. Material is covered quickly and clearly, and there are extra explanations for the questions that other courses left me puzzling over. A really well taught course, highly recommended. The only minor drawback of this course is that the sound quality could be better, but that's a minor point.

创建者 Nikolai K

Jun 2, 2017

A well-thought course on statistics. Some topic were explained too fast on the video, but I was able to catch up on the things that I have missed reading the text book. By the way, the text book is really well written - easy to read, concise and comprehensive. Great course overall. I wish they gave more additional info on R programming basics, but that's the only concern.

创建者 Gunjari B

Nov 29, 2018

The course was taught in a very illustrative manner with enough repititions over the concepts! A very deep dive from absolute basics to how's and why's. The assignments related to coding can come with some clearer explanations and the project is a little beyond the scope of the coding taught, however it will be an intensive and incredibly helpful venture if completed.

创建者 Damon R

Oct 7, 2016

A nice blend of statistics, applied labs using R, and a final exploratory data analysis project that the course prepares you for very well. The instructor is informative, easy to understand, and brings enjoyment to the video lectures. The open textbook is well aligned and easy to read. The quizzes and labs are challenging. The mentors are responsive and helpful.

创建者 Chuwen Z

Nov 24, 2019

Very useful, especially in R. I really like the final project since it really gave me the opportunity to explore the dataset on myself. it was a little bit challenging for me since I had to integrate all of knowledge I learned here. But I have to say it is really useful. The narrator is brilliant too. Each concept and statistic method is clear and acceptable.

创建者 Christopher W C

Jun 29, 2020

This course did an excellent job of challenging at an appropriate level. Full disclosure, I have never done any programming in R and have been playing catch-up on that part the whole time but the materials are set up in a very helpful but not too hand-holding way. I particularly enjoyed the final assignment. It really served to drive home the material covered!

创建者 Nicolas M

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent guidance, videos and a free ebook to guide you through the process. I managed to learn alot and do well on the final project finishing the course with 95% even though I had 0 programming experience. If you are willing to spend the time studying, and reviewing the very helpful material, there is no reason whatsoever you will not be able to do well.

创建者 Beili L

Dec 13, 2020

This course was very well taught. The concepts are interesting and the presentation is well-organized. The examples and projects are very helpful in helping us practice what we were taught. The final project is challenging, and is indeed a stretch assignment. However, all the concepts and coding taught in the lectures should prepare us for the challenge.

创建者 José M P C

Jul 12, 2020

It has been a very interesting course for me, I have expanded my knowledge of probability and descriptive and inferential statistics, I have learned to use R to perform these calculations, and finally, I learned the incredible possibilities of making professional and useful documents with RMarkdown. Thank you very much to all the teachers of the course!

创建者 Omar M

Apr 20, 2020

If you need a statistics refresher or an introductory class to probability, this course is definitely the best one you will find, don't think it twice, just sign up. Professor Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel is hands down one of the best teachers I've seen, she does a great job at explaining complex concepts without diluting the important theoretical information.

创建者 romen a

Apr 9, 2020

El curso es excelente, la profesora lo imparte muy bien, de forma concisa, clara y fácil de entender. Además, el aprendizaje de R es también sencillo y muy muy útil. Igual que el proyecto final.

Si tuviera que poner una pega, sería que es una pena que sea tan básico. Hubiera estado genial que durara una cuantas horas más. ¡Muy contento de haberlo hecho!

创建者 Lou B V

Sep 3, 2020

Great course. Even if I already call myself a Statistics enthusiast, I learned that there were still grey parts in what I have already learned before and it was all clearly stipulated and discussed in this course. On top of that, I have learned R programming from zero base knowledge in programming. I just hope I can complete the whole specialization.

创建者 Krishnendu S

Apr 15, 2019

Excellent! mind-blowing! I am immensely impressed by the way the coursed is designed. Very well balanced introductory course with an wonderful introduction of R (which is very needed for modern day statistical problem with huge data)! So extremely recommended for those who wants to kink start their understanding with statistics (in any field!!)!

创建者 Chin J L

Feb 8, 2018

This course gives a nice introduction to fundamental concepts of Probability and Data. It also gives a glimpse on scientific studies. The topics are very well presented and the study material is excellent.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who does not have a background on the subject and wishes to have a better understanding of Statistics

创建者 Yize H

Oct 4, 2016

This is a great course, very helpful for people who are interested in statistics and R. I learned a lot from the lecture. Apart from the compact lecture, I also learned a lot from the peer review process, the work I reviewed and feedback I got were very helpful, I was also shocked by the efforts present in the work and feedback. Great community.