Chevron Left
返回到 什么是数据科学?

学生对 IBM 提供的 什么是数据科学? 的评价和反馈

4.7
32,841 个评分
5,953 条评论

课程概述

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

热门审阅

SB

Sep 10, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

筛选依据:

51 - 什么是数据科学? 的 75 个评论(共 5,937 个)

创建者 uzair k

Mar 07, 2020

A very brief and complete introduction of Data Science from industry experts highly recommended course

创建者 Mahesh K

Jan 03, 2019

It encompasses fine details to introduce data science and explore data scientists as a career.

创建者 Andrew F

Jan 03, 2019

Great introduction to Data Science!

创建者 Ferry T

Aug 20, 2019

Great for introduction!

创建者 Chan H D L

Jan 04, 2019

Very informative and presented by respected individuals with a passion for the field. The only critique is that the material might be a little outdated as it seems to have been created around 2014-2015.

创建者 Dwight F

Jan 01, 2019

It does in fact answer a basic, fundamental question; what is Data Science?

创建者 Xueting L

Dec 27, 2019

This course has only maximum 20% useful content that could have been covered as an executive summary in 10 minutes instead of a whole week. A lot of the content is either fluffy socializing or irrelevant secondary information that has nothing to do with data science. As a toxicologist I'm interested in applying data science to my aggregate exposure estimation, and I have absolutely no interest in knowing the base salary of a data scientist working in North America, or which organization says what (facts do not care about opinions!) but unfortunately this was a mandatory question in the quizzes and was a waste of my time. And I find the self-introduction part of the final assignment a bit surreal and again irrelevant. I come here to learn about data science, not socializing. We have facebook, twitter and instagram for that. What my name is or what I do is irrelevant to others who take this course; where others come from is irrelevant to me; we're wasting our time saying something irrelevant and being forgotten by others in 5 minutes. Hoping to see more tangible content in the next courses.

创建者 Vincent Z

Jan 07, 2019

This is really an introductory course, and there is not much to be learned, not a single line of programming or a single chart generated. But it can all be done in a single day, so it is a necessary evil to reach the good stuff in the specialization, I guess.

创建者 Shaili P

Sep 23, 2018

The course provides a good overview of data science in general. I particularly liked the definitions of a data scientist and data science. Mr. Haider's definitions are inclusive, broad and encouraging, He says one of the most important traits for a data scientist to possess is curiosity and that tools and techniques can be learnt.

The course also touches upon hot topic areas that people have heard of but most do not understand - i.e. Machine Learning, Neural Networks, Data Mining and Big Data. I have a much better idea what these terms mean now along with the tools of the trade. The course was quite short and concise. I found it the perfect pace for me. The quizzes matched the content and there was nothing extraneous.

I am looking forward to the other courses in the specialization. A quick glance has shown me that the difficulty level increases quite a lot in the other courses and I would definitely have to invest a lot more time in them. The start has been gentle and encouraging, thank you!

创建者 Deleted A

Jul 09, 2019

I do not having any background of Data Science but after go through this course I am having a good understanding about what is data science,what skills are needed to become data scientist etc.Additionally, clear all my confusions .Now I am aware about the correct path to learn data science,also what qualities are required to become a Data Scientist i am also aware about that.

A very good experience i had about data science after go through this course.All real life scenarios are discussed and real life experiences are shared by various data scientist.Excellent course with a very good content for beginners who do not anything about data science.

If anyone is having a little bit knowledge about data science then after going through this course you should know what are the areas in which you can improved, a correct path to build a carrier in data science.

创建者 Miguel A I B

Mar 23, 2020

Very good course to understand the environment that encompasses the area of ​​Data Science and data Analytics

Good to understand the objective of this carrier, the scope, objetives how it supporting the different verticals industries business, an the role it plays in building the strategy, also provides indication on what it takes to be a Data Science, good introduction to key related tools or solutions supporting the Analitycs evolution Artificial intelligence neural networks.

closing with key elements to be taiking into account at the moment to elaborate and provide Report & results by Data Science, never the less providing the relevance and demand that Data Science carrier in having at this moment due to the key results that provides in different scenarios of the day by day activities Industries, Science , marketing , sales etc

创建者 Elzbieta K

Sep 16, 2019

This course offers a great introduction when you heard about data science, but cannot really relate to it nor give your own concise answer to what "Data Science" is or what a "Data Scientist" does. I loved the interviews with the different students at the beginning, inviting different disciplines and backgrounds to the "Data Science Table". Professor Haider and Professor White give a thorough outlook on data science and career possibilities as well as skills that are necessary to succeed. The readings cover subjects like "Data Mining" and "Data Science Project Report Writing" and give a great introduction as well as guidelines to use later on the job. Great job they have done putting this course together! And I am looking forward to the next modules of the "IBM Data Science Professional Certificate"!

创建者 julie c

Sep 28, 2018

As a novice to Data Science this course met me where I was, at the very beginning, and provided an organized, overview of this evolving career field. The balanced mix of types of media used kept my interest and periodic comprehension checks along the way provided reinforcement of key concepts. As a visual learner I enjoyed the option to print out transcripts of all videos and reading assignments for note taking and highlighting. It was refreshing as well as encouraging to discover that 'soft skills' are highly prized in a good data science team member. I was energized to learn that I will be able to develop the skills and experience necessary to pursue a career in Data Science or Machine Learning and am eager to get started on the next course required to earn my Professional Certificate.

创建者 Fatima G

Apr 21, 2019

Even though I can not pass the quizzes and final assignment*, I have watched the videos and read the readings and answered the questions and I found this course very very very useful, because I am new at Data Science and this course give me the overview of what is data Science really is and How can someone become a Data Scientist. I really thanks Coursers and IBM. :)

*P.S: I am in Iran. Unfortunately there is a lot of problems being an Iranian. There are sanctions and limits against Iranian "People". But it is very sad that these people were not be able to use these free educational material. I passed courses in Coursera but I Can not get certificate because the name of my country were not in the list. We are also a human being.

With respect :)

Fatima Ghaffaari

创建者 Caitlin L

May 25, 2019

I must have missed it but there were more than ten components in the final deliverable as far as the reading exercise went. More specifically, the differentiation was not clear as to which of those components were the ten main components. So, extra clarification would be good. Sometimes the content seemed to contradict itself, being that there were so many lecturers, so maybe a recap as to what the definitive answer is would also be really nice too. Maybe another lecturer could be added separately at the end of each section to recap what you expect the student to understand or to summarize everyone's answer into a more definitive answer.

创建者 Suzanne L

Mar 31, 2020

The instructors and course material do a great job in covering the field of data science and explaining why data scientists are and will continue to be of immense value in the future. As someone with an operations management background and no formal academic education in Data Science such as PhD/MS in Statistics, Mathematics, CS etc., my initial decision to learn DS was serious, yet I still had a feeling of uncertainty in making this shift. Jumping into a new field and gaining quant skills can be daunting, but this introductory course really helped me to lay a foundation and solidify my intentions in pursuing this career track.

创建者 Daniela R

Apr 15, 2020

Hi guys, you have done a fantastic job with this course! I really enjoyed it.

I appreciate the fact that you have included diverse set of students for interviews. Going forward, it would be great if you could identify a female co-instructor to add more diversity and different perspective to the structure and presentation of the materials. I believe that having a woman as instructor (not only voice over) would make the whole topic more accessible for women participants.

Could you share some statistics on the proportion of women among students who enrolled for the course and graduated?

Thanks a lot.

创建者 Manish S

Jan 07, 2019

Dr. Murtaza Haider's views are so simple and so profound. Before taking the course, all I knew about Data Science was that it is a highly technical subject and people with non-technical background (like me) will find it difficult (if not very difficult) to dive into it. The introduction makes me very comfortable and enthusiastic about the subject. When I look back at my work all the past years, I had been wearing the hat of a data scientist without knowing it! Of course, the technical part will be coming but now I am very confident that I will be able to tackle it with ease.

创建者 Shivam w

Jan 03, 2020

What a great a journey it was. Learned a lot from this course. When I first saw this course I thought it will be very difficult for me to complete this course but when I started learning it it felt very easy to me. Every topic explained in a very simple way and by also giving an analogy. Before joining this course i was so scared but now after completion of course I'm feeling very confident and I got a feeling that I choose the right path. Thank you coursera for designing this beautiful course in a very good manner. Thank You So Much

创建者 Ankit M

Sep 03, 2019

This is probably the best introduction that is out there to the fascinating world of Data Science. Hats off to the faculties in this course for making it fun, while at the same time being informative too. I liked the examples provided by Prof. Murtaza; you can tell that he sincerely enjoys educating students and takes pride in it. Same goes for Prof. White, I hope someday I get the chance to meet them. Last but not the least, huge thanks to the hard-working people at IBM and Coursera for creating this course. You guys rock!

创建者 Pasam P K

May 15, 2020

This course added more knowledge to my previous course, I have taken in Coursera, 'AI FOR EVERYONE by Dr. Andrew Ng'. As a Ph. D aspirant, now I confidently choose Data Science as a subject to pursue, with this knowledge. This course also provoked me to learn Python, I already started with basics. Thanks to L4G for providing me this opportunity. It's a priceless opportunity. Thanks, IBM for facilitating these kinds of knowledge in an accessible way to everyone. I am going on with all the 9 modules of this entire course.

创建者 Julie M

Feb 02, 2020

This was a perfect introduction for a beginner to data science. There’s a little bit more of general conversation in the videos than I found helpful. It is fairly easy to meet the standard for accountability for content knowledge. I really appreciate the ability to have the video text along with the videos so I can choose how I learn best. Sometimes the quiz answers change if you scroll back on a touch screen to review them. Overall I found this to be an excellent introduction in terms of the content and the pacing.

创建者 Andrew R

Nov 26, 2019

A basic but very useful introduction to the field of data science. A good course to start for someone from a non-analytics background. It emphasises the often overlooked detail of storytelling - other courses dive straight into pandas and matplotlib and machine learning algorithms but don't mention to the student that successfully telling the story of the data to stakeholders, rather than just visualising it, is just as important as the technical work. Something I wish I had known when starting out in the field.

创建者 Henry G C

Sep 16, 2018

I liked the videos from not only professors but also students. The transcript also helped to understanding the materials. However, some of the content discussed in the videos and/or text didn't match with what we were quizzed on intermittently throughout the class course; thus we were wrong on some answers when we were actually right. A little misleading especially if you're a student trying to learn new material. This is a simple fix to me. The course itself is a good intro class to data science.

创建者 Fatolu M M .

Jul 26, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful opportunity on the path of becoming a Data Scientist on Coursera once again. As taught in the course, the impact, relevance and importance of data science in our day to day living can not be over-emphasized. We are all faced with the task of evaluating, manipulating and analyse data in our every day living and making an informed decision and inferring answers from such that affect our lives and others around us as an individual, Government, Corporations and Organisations.