Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的评价和反馈

4.9
742 个评分
227 个审阅

课程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

热门审阅

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

筛选依据:

176 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 200 个评论(共 220 个)

创建者 tanya i p

Jun 20, 2019

Fascinating and the teachers are passionate and keep it interesting.

创建者 Diana P B

Jul 09, 2019

A very good and in-depth course that can be taken with very little previous knowledge on the subject. Lecturers go in great detail, not simply giving you information, but really making sure you understand how we infer dinosaur's behaviour and function of different body parts. Biomechanics are taught at a level that is very easy to understand and allow you to apply your learning to different areas. The course is interactive, with many quizzes along the way that ensure you are not just memorising, but actually engaging and learning how to develop your thinking so that you can also interpret fossils to determine function and behaviour. Both illustrations and fossils are shown throughout the course, which are helpful in guiding one's learning. Recommended even for those not interested in Paleontology but are passionate for biology in general.

创建者 arinn w

May 14, 2019

Love the instructor and teaching style!

创建者 Kenneth P K

May 30, 2019

Amazing course, really helped me on my quest to becoming a Paleontologist!!!!!!

创建者 Héctor R R M

Jun 02, 2019

Tenía conocimiento a cerca del tema, pero el curso me ayudó abarcar más sobre estas especies extintas.

创建者 Jesús G c V

Jun 04, 2019

increible

创建者 Melinda M

Jun 07, 2019

I enjoyed this course and all the courses from the University of Alberta. When understanding how animals came to their current state, we first need to go through the geological time line of how the animals came to be. This course and the other courses showed evolution at its finest.

创建者 Nathan L

Jul 21, 2019

This course presents fascinating current evidence for the evolutionary path that leads from non-avian theropods to modern birds in a way that's both fun and accessible. I learned a great deal from this course and feel that I could now explain the basics of this transition to others. I found the interactive phylogenetic tree particularly useful for working out the relationships between the many theropod groups. Highly recommended if you love dinosaurs - the extinct or the extant variety.

创建者 Mandy J W

Jul 25, 2019

The quality of this course is excellent and I totally enjoyed myself in taking it.

创建者 Charles G

Jul 31, 2019

Who knew that birds were dinosaurs? As a bonified bird nerd, I found this course to be fascinating. It is very well presented and makes relatable the anatomical evolutionary paths taken by various dinosaurs to the final incredible populations of birds we see today.

创建者 Ashish S

Jul 29, 2019

I did enjoyed this course primarily because I do like paleontology. The course note were very much helpful to study the course. And it was very much interesting

创建者 William V L

Aug 11, 2019

Interesting and engaging, the passion of the instructors is contagious!

创建者 Marcos G M

May 22, 2019

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

创建者 Silvia A A

Sep 15, 2019

A very good course where you learn a lot of facts about current dinosaurs (birds) and fossil disonaurus. A great job for teachers. Thank you for teaching me so much.

创建者 Agustín C

Aug 27, 2019

Ahora veo las aves de una manera muy diferente, muy bueno!

创建者 Brenda H

Sep 03, 2019

This course was excellent. I learned a great deal about the origin of birds.

创建者 kate m

Sep 28, 2019

This class is so interesting because the instructor is knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the subject. It has been one of the classes I've most enjoyed on Coursera.

创建者 Newton W

Oct 02, 2019

Fantastic course and so informative. I thoroughly recommend this for dinosaur enthusiasts!

创建者 Colin C

Oct 09, 2019

Very enjoyable course

创建者 Anne J

Oct 15, 2019

Entertaining, well designed and organized, thought-provoking course with enusiastic presentors and spectacular graphics.

Because I have never paid any attention to dinosaurs from the Mesozoic, and din't have a clue about the variety and naming conventions, I was initially overwhelmed by all the 15+ (seemed like 100+) character long names that were tossed about like popcorn tossed at the villan in a melodrama. It took a while, but I adjusted. Beware if you are not a dino connisseur.

While the course offers a primer in bird anatomy at the very beginning, the more you know about modern bird anatomy the better you will see the convulted map of evolution (and where you are heading) from the outset. My knowledge of bird anatomy was a helpful counter balance to my ignorance of Mesozoic dinos!

I thought that this course would simply be a nice side bar to my understanding and appreciation of birds. Instead it added a remarkable depth to my understanding, respect, and appreciation for the birds I observe and photograph every day.

Many thanks to the University of Alberta faculty and staff that make this course available!

创建者 Robert D S

Oct 16, 2019

This one was tough but I learned so much. Well worth the cost and the time. Who knows, maybe I'll find the missing link between avians and dinosaura.

创建者 Brunet P

Oct 30, 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely course, look forward to continue learning at 73 plus.

创建者 Thiago R

Nov 09, 2019

extraordinary

创建者 Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

创建者 David D

Jan 25, 2019

Great course. My first thoughts were learning about bird evolution might need seem all that interesting but because it all starts with the dinosaurs we are somewhat familiar with, this approach makes it highly stimulating.

Well spoken and well presented.