Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的评价和反馈

4.9
732 个评分
223 个审阅

课程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

热门审阅

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

筛选依据:

1 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 25 个评论(共 216 个)

创建者 Daniel T

Jan 08, 2019

W. Scott Persons is a spectacular presenter. He speaks clearly and articulates himself in such a way that he can explain a complex subject in an easy-to-understand way. He doesn't speak too quickly nor too slowly. If anyone wants to be a better presenter, they should follow the example of Persons.

I like the questions being asked during the video. Sometimes they are just to make sure you are paying attention, but most times they require you to make inferences based on what you have learned, which is great. If you complete the reading material before watching the videos, you should have no problem at all answering the video questions.

The reading material is extremely in-depth and very informative even beyond what the videos offer. One complaint I have would be that the estimated time of completion for the reading is inaccurate. They say it takes about 10 minutes but if you want to actually read and get a good grasp of all of the material presented in the notes, it will take far longer. Personally, it takes me several hours to consolidate the material in my head and to take notes. Like I said, the reading goes very in-depth.

The reading material also uses anatomical terms of location very frequently. I would recommend learning the anatomical terms of location (rostral, caudal, distal, proximal, etc.) to assist you while you read the notes. Also take some time to learn how to interpret cladograms.

One thing that stands out to me is the Tree of Life, which is basically an interactive learning objective that shows how ALL life to have ever existed on this planet is connected. It is an AMAZING supplement to the course and a lot of fun to explore.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone interested in dinosaurs; paleontology as a whole; evolution and phylogenesis; and ornithology.

创建者 Brice B

Sep 09, 2017

Fascinating class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in five weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, some games and an interactive phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) I have attended all four paleontology courses from the University of Alberta and this is the one I preferred. Having first hand accounts of the discovery of Therapod fossils by Professor Currie is great and as a result the course strikes a good balance between giving facts and explaining the scientific method. Moreover, the historical part of the course, on the debate on the origin of dinosaurs, is very interesting and, as an added bonus, gives an idea of what the state of the field is today.

创建者 Michael S R

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent course......so well presented, so very exciting! I just loved it! I'm a retired neuroscience researcher (dementia) and held held positions as a Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Australian Catholic University. Since retiring I have been pursuing a long dormant passion for palaeontology and have worked on dinosaur projects in Outback Australia and have studied formal units in Palaeontology through the University of New England, Australia, and now this course through the University of Alberta! I have also obtained credentials as a laboratory technician with the Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum. I look forward to doing another course via Coursera through the University of Alberta! Bloody beauty, mate!

创建者 Dhaval S

Jun 11, 2019

That was one of the Best Experience of Learning u people Nailed it Perfectly, waiting for some new courses from your side, Dhaval Shukal

创建者 Jarrad R

Feb 04, 2019

it was great i loved it

创建者 Sharan S M

Feb 05, 2019

This course taught me about Birds and Dinosaurs well

创建者 Joaquín I C C

Jan 20, 2019

Demasiado bueno y muy informativo, y con la facilidad de que todos los vídeos están subtitulados ayuda mucho a la comprensión de la información. Se lo recomiendo a todos los amantes de los terópodos y dinosaurios en general.

创建者 Daniel T

Jan 22, 2019

Great info, great teachers

创建者 Llelani C

Jan 24, 2019

Lecture material very comprehensive, well explained, and engaging. The notes are detailed, yet easy to understand.

The diagrams assist in understanding, with information depicting the structures being discussed.

创建者 Nevaeh C

Feb 25, 2019

A very interesting course!

创建者 Katsutoshi Hayashi

Feb 25, 2019

Wonderful and interesting!

创建者 David A G R

Aug 12, 2018

excelente Oportunidad de estudiar.

创建者 Amir B

Sep 02, 2018

Very good!

创建者 Caleb A S

Sep 14, 2018

Highly educational, even for a veteran paleontologist like myself. I would indeed reccomend this course to anyone who has an interest in paleontology, evolutionary biology, or ornithology!

创建者 Raphael B d O (

Sep 17, 2018

I'm a ruge fan of Coursera style of learning. I think this is a powerful tool for knowledge and a way to spread it. And this course about the connections between theropods and birds just ratify my thoughts. I'd like to say i'm much obliged to you (paleo)scientists of Alberta for the experience and opportunity to learn such a valuable subject for someone that's always fascinated with life's history and Evolution's ways to transform. One day, i shall visit Alberta to see by myself these amazing fossils records you have. Thanks again, you got a (another?) fan from Brazil.

创建者 Liza v G

Sep 21, 2018

Dinosaurs are still living. Where?

You'll learn in this fantastic Course.Thanks!

Love from The Netherlands

创建者 Jason H

Nov 03, 2018

Great informative course, entertaining presenters, easy to follow.

创建者 John D

Aug 28, 2018

Very good course! More of these please!

创建者 Bart S

Aug 17, 2018

Great course! Even without a biological background, it's very interesting

创建者 Sayan T

Aug 30, 2018

Really a great course , not only for paleontology enthusiasts but also for general zoology and biology enthusiasts. the assignments were way too easy in most cases. I hoped to get questions that made us more indulged with the excellent detailed content provided by the University. Had a real great time learning in such detail with such simple yet elaborate way.

创建者 Erin S

May 16, 2018

Fantastic course!

Excellent content and excellent production quality. 5/5 would highly recommend.

创建者 JOHN Q

Feb 14, 2016

wonderful and interesting class. thanks guys.

创建者 subhasmita p

Jun 13, 2017

Best Course ever !!

创建者 Mimi G

Oct 11, 2016

lots of fun, I wish it was a little more intensive.

创建者 timothy j o

Jun 09, 2016

This was a great introductory class and I learned a lot. The instructor was great seemed personable, interesting and very into the subject matter. I learned I haven't been pronouncing anything correctly after all these years