Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的评价和反馈

4.9
739 个评分
227 个审阅

课程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

热门审阅

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

筛选依据:

201 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 220 个评论(共 220 个)

创建者 DC

Jul 11, 2018

The cladistic and taxonomic terminology is overwhelming, interspersed with absurdly easy quizzes, but all in all a good course and all materials are available for free. As usual, Dr. Persons can get a bit out of control with the theatrical gestures and facial expressions but I would recommend this course.

创建者 Dr. J S

Mar 25, 2016

Perfect course. I learned lot of stuff and really enjoyed it. I am only giving 4 stars because as a non-paying student I could not benefit from the graded assignments. As person who would never use the knowledge professionally (working in IT), I did not want to pay for the certificate.

创建者 Lily A N

Aug 02, 2017

This was a very well put together and thought-out course. Overall, the information presented was well ordered and the learning aids (lecture notes, tree of life, & glossary) matched/expanded the video content. Tho only issues would be that: the quizzes were a little too easy and, when book-marked, the pdf file links provided would no longer work.

创建者 Erick J A O

Mar 20, 2016

I'd like to be able to take a free version of the quizzes.

创建者 Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

Tough to pass. Great scientific info. Instructor born to teach.

创建者 Tom H

Mar 03, 2016

Really interesting, nicely presented.

创建者 Stephanie V

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting and very informative. Well-presented and engaging videos. These were often quite long though (25 - 30 mins) and could perhaps have been broken down into two smaller chunks which would have made the information (of which there was lots) more digestible.

创建者 Angel A M

Apr 12, 2017

Es un curso muy útil ya que nos enseña como fue el proceso de evolución de los dinosaurios para finalmente convertirse en voladores..

创建者 Javier

Jun 17, 2017

Podrían poner traducción al español

创建者 Skylore M

Jul 02, 2017

The course is exceptional, but loses track near the end. In the beginning it has detailed taxonomical images of relevant bone-structure which is entirely missing by the final chapter.

创建者 Richard K

May 26, 2017

well done

创建者 Rebecca E

Feb 22, 2016

Very interesting course, kept me involved and was very interactive.

创建者 kim p

Sep 14, 2017

I really liked the subject of this course. I love to see more bird related courses

创建者 Maria W O

Mar 30, 2016

Overall good course, although at times narrow understanding of right answers.

创建者 Jakob G

Jul 16, 2019

This was a great course to grasp the relationship between theropods and birds, and also to follow the development of therapods and realize the big differences between these.

Having English as a second language, I'm quite used to getting around even in an academical context that is fully English. However, I had a hard time with all the anatomical references, especially bone parts that apparently are referenced in Latin rather than English. I had to give the course another round, carefully building my glossary as the course went on. I did this to have some kind of reference document during the course, and it actually worked fins, but if you ask me in a month or so I will probably have already forgot which one is a sternum and which one is the tibia :-)

创建者 steve p

Dec 23, 2018

Very general content material. I enjoyed Dr. Currie, but found the presenter to be smug and pedantic

创建者 leslie l

Mar 09, 2016

These courses on Ancient Life Evolution are best when they discuss how species developed, how they adapted and how they were discovered. The laundry listing of species in some of the lectures was a snooze fest however. It also repeated what was in other lectures for the week. I would have preferred more information on the ecosystem in which the critters dwelled. The Ancient Marine Reptile class did a much better job of presenting this info although it did some laundry listing.

创建者 jill a l

Mar 10, 2016

The course has incredible content, but you are required to read quite a bit of information via lengthy pdfs prior to the videos. This is not my learning style so I found it challenging.

As a Naturalist and bird lover, I was eager to take the course and glad that I did.

创建者 Kent R C

Mar 05, 2016

Interesting subject, but not much content and assessments are way too short. More variety in assignments would be nice too.